Why do I need my ID?
Under Arizona state law, any transaction (excluding Aluminum cans and steel) that totals more than $25 requires the recycler to file a police report on the materials purchased.
Why are some places buying cans for $1/lb or more?
There are a number of places purchasing cans for prices considerably over the market. They are taking the cans into California and selling them for the redemption value. This practice is tax fraud and the California Department of Revenue does prosecute those caught.
Why don’t you pay as much for cans as they do in California?
In California the consumer pays a deposit on the aluminum cans when they purchase beverages from the grocery store. California residents may redeem that deposit when they take their aluminum cans into a recycler. This deposit is usually $0.90/lb over the scrap value.
How often are your scales checked?
We have our scales checked by a certified repair company on a monthly basis and are certified in accordance with state weights and measures guidelines.
What is non-ferrous?
Non-Ferrous materials are non-magnetic. Stick a magnet to the surface for a quick test.
What are the scrap laws in Arizona?
All of the laws that govern scrap metal dealers can be found and the following website. http://www.azleg.gov/ArizonaRevisedStatutes.asp
See title 44 sections 1641-1647
What materials do you purchase and not purchase?
We purchase Aluminum, Brass, Copper, Stainless Steel, Steel and Electronic scrap. Here are a few examples:
(Virtually any item made of metal)
Paper Products: (We take these as a courtesy to our customer, but do not buy)
Here are the few we don’t take:
- Catalytic Converters
- Copper Buss Bar (purchase from companies only)
- Hazardous or radioactive materials
- Live Ammunition
- Ballasts & Capacitors
- Beer Kegs